Hollywood Report

Hollywood – Vipology News Hounds

African American Film Critics Association Awards Led by “The Harder They Fall,” King Richard”

This year, the African American Film Critics Association Awards were led by The Harder They Fall and King Richard, with four major wins each.

Other major wins included Jennifer Hudson for best actress for her Arethra Franklin role in Respect, Corey Hawkins for best supporting actor in The Tragedy of Macbeth, and Don’t Look Up for best screenplay.

All winners will be honored at the AAFCA’s 13th annual awards ceremony to be held at limited capacity and safety protocols on March 2nd at the SLS Hotel in Los Angeles, California.

See the full list of this year’s AAFCA Awards winners below:

Best Picture: “The Harder They Fall”
Best Director: Jeymes Samuel (“The Harder They Fall”)
Best Screenplay: “Don’t Look Up” (Adam McKay)
Best Actor: Will Smith (“King Richard”)
Best Actress: Jennifer Hudson (“Respect”)
Best Supporting Actor: Corey Hawkins (“The Tragedy of Macbeth”)
Best Supporting Actress: Aunjanue Ellis (“King Richard”)
Breakout Actor: Saniyya Sidney (“King Richard”)
Best Ensemble: “The Harder They Fall”
Emerging Director: Reinaldo Marcus Green (“King Richard”)
Best Music: “The Harder They Fall” (Jeymes Samuel, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z)
Best Independent Feature: “Who We Are”
Best Documentary: “Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)”

Photo credit: Victor Moussa / Shutterstock.com

Viewing page 2 of 20|Previous Page|Next Page